Happy New Year!

Hello everyone,

Firstly a quick apology for the ridiculous title of this blog.  My attempt at a joke after not posting a blog since 2011!

It is primarily down to my own laziness that I have been absent from the blogging community for a long time but I have been roused from my lethargy by a series of kicks from friends and family.

Chief instigator in the kicking, is one Fergus Ford, who just keeps on writing amazing stuff and posting some pretty cracking work at the same time, please stop by his blog if you get a chance.

So I’d like to show a little of what I have been up to in the past 8 months. As a relative newcomer to the freelance photography game, I have been trying my hand at everything I can get, from fashion to weddings and a few small things in between.

One small thing in particular is this little princess.

Olivia Jean Hart

The arrival of the Olivia Jean Hart, the first daughter of our friends Lisa and Steve. We (my lovely girlfriend and I) were lucky enough to meet her just a couple of days after she had been born and what a lovely little lady she is.

Lisa asked if I wouldn’t mind taking some photos, how could I mind?! She was the perfect model and we got some lovely shots for Mum, Dad, Grandma’s and Grandad’s to ahhhhh at.

She is already much bigger now, but still just as lovely.

What next… erm, weddings, lots of weddings. 2012 seems to be the year that everyone we know is getting married.  Now I had never set out to be a wedding photographer, but I was asked to take the photos at a number of friends and family weddings this year and I have to say, as stressful as it can be, I am starting to really enjoy it and I have already been booked to do some more later this year and next year too. Here’s a couple of my favourites from earlier this year.

Thanks to Malcolm & Kay and Drew & Rachel for their weddings!

As well as being lucky enough to be asked to shoot these sorts of things, I have also managed to land a few clients in the fashion world. Now fashion is about as broad a subject as photography itself and I have come to learn that you wont always be shooting things that you would either wear yourself or would even enjoy being around someone who did.

As with most work I guess, you take the bad days with the good. So I can’t complain about spending weeks in a windowless studio on set with a guy modelling hundreds of pairs of underpants, with a body that wouldn’t look out of place if it was carved from granite, when the next shoot is a lovely Brazilian lady modelling lingerie.

My work in the fashion world has varied a lot. For some clients, they send me boxes of clothes, accessories, handbags, jewellery etc and I set to work ironing, dressing mannequins, setting up lighting, shooting and editing the photos for print and web. For other clients, I simply turn up at their studio and edit either photos or videos that have been shot their or on location.

I’ve been lucky enough to work with some great people on various shoots this last 6 months. I’ve learned a lot about the industry and also found that I have a bit of an eye for some of this fashion stuff. For those that know me and my regular wardrobe of grey t-shirts and blue jeans pretty much all year round that may come as a bit of shock!

So here’s a couple of shots of some of the clothing I’ve photographed for one of my clients, attitude clothing.

Attitude Clothing

So that’s a quick round up of what I’ve been up to work-wise.  I have to admit with all the work I’ve been doing, I haven’t taken my camera out for myself nearly enough in the last 6 months, but here’s a few shots that I’ve managed in that time.

Panoramic of Edinburgh from Arthur’s Seat

Rainbow in a Wine Glass

Studio Shoots

Monty – Stone Creek

So that’s about it really.

I promise I’ll do my best to blog more frequently about the goings on in my world.

Thanks for reading.

Joshua

Leave a Reply

doosietravels

tales from around the world

PARALLEL MADNESS

FOR FILM LOVERS, FILMMAKERS & THE INTRIGUED

reuben.guru

A blog for people who like to fiddle with stuff...tech stuff

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

sianford

Just another WordPress.com site

Mayur Hulsar Photography

A TTL View of My World

thisisferg

Photographer

jamescreasy

photographer

